Sybawrite

Cock typeface

Posted in caught by juliobesq on April 14, 2010

The internet is a fabulous place. A short while back when vanity had the better of me, I trawled the statistics of this blog to see where traffic arrived from.

And there nestled in the results was the phrase “cock typeface”.

Well, what would you do? Exactly, I immediately hit Google to see what was out there. Turns out there are only two viable hits. One, this blog and that’s tenuous, I’m fairly certain I have never actually committed that exact phrase to print (until now of course).

The other, turns out, really is a cock typeface – www.mattcstokes.com.

I emailed Matt about our shared internet heritage. A couple of days of later I received a plain brown envelope  chock full of cock stickers. Which have proved unbelievably popular, my models absconding with most of them already. Who would have thought?

Intrigued I asked why. Here is his reply “It was a typography project I did whilst I was still at Uni. We were set the task of designing a new typeface. Everyone was doing very conceptual, mathematical, algorithmic designs – so I decided to draw cocks”.

Most people might have left it there, but he appears to be a man of resolution and committed to having stickers printed, which he kindly emails to anyone asking. Inspired.

My hat off to you sir.

He tells me he’s almost out so if you want one may I suggest sending him something wonderful in exchange.

Leave a Reply

